Close Video

London local elections: How to cast your vote

03 May 2018

On Thursday, May 3rd every council seat in each of London’s 32 boroughs is up for election.

Each London borough is divided into areas known as ‘wards’. Residents can vote for however many council seats are being contested in that ward.

In 28 of the 32 boroughs, the council leader will be decided by the political party with most seats.

However, in Newham, Tower Hamlets, Hackney and Lewisham each operate an executive mayoral system. So in addition to voting for local wards, residents will also vote directly for who leads the council.


The minimum voting age is 18 on the day of the election. The voter must also live in the area where they are voting. But to vote you must be registered. To find out how, watch the video below.


You can cast your vote at a local polling station from 7am until 10pm. Your polling card will have details of the location of your polling station. The card will be sent yo you by your council.

When you get to the polling station, you’ll need to tell polling staff yout name and address in order to vote. The polling card will save time so you should take it with you.

You can also apply for a postal ballot. These are sent out ahead of election day.


Back to news